Vegetarian -FAIL

15 Mar

Throughout my years I’ve gone back and forth on my stance to eat (or not eat) meat.  Obviously I ADORE animals and feel strongly about the ethical treatment of our furry friends… but, I enjoy meat.  I’ve tried to go vegetarian numerous times but always end up having a burger somewhere down the line.  For a while I stayed clear of red meat and even now I typically use turkey everything vs. beef.  After watching Forks Over Knives (or was it Food Inc.?) I decided to try vegetarianism again and I subscribed to Vegetarian Times magazine.

 

veggietiems

..

 

 

inevitably weeks later I found myself staring at a free range burger at a nearby restaurant… oops.  But I STILL get those magazines reminding me monthly of how I failed.  I can only reason with myself that I’m more educated now and we only buy organic and free range meats/eggs.  In any case there are actually some great recipes from VT, including this one;

 

 

veggie soup

 

Meat-free Friday for Lent!! How do you feel about meat in your diet?

2 Responses to “Vegetarian -FAIL”

  1. auntie coon March 15, 2013 at 9:41 am #

    I share your ethical dilemna, but when the logical part of my brain takes over, this is what it says to me: “You have canines, and while somewhat modified today, they’re still proof that your body is designed to eat meat. The problem isn’t that we eat meat (other animals eat each other), it’s how we treat the animals that we raise to eat – it’s shameful, to say the least. I gave up veal (and I really loved veal schnitzel!) back in the 70’s, when I found out the nasty facts of modern day veal production. I believe change will take place – eventually. But it’s going to be a long, long road. There may even come a day when any meat you eat will be produced in labs from stem cells. I try not to beat myself up too much about it. You’re already
    helping to bring about change by buying only organic/free range. Perhaps you would feel better if you only ate meat every other day? I don’t eat meat on Thursdays, and by summer I plan to cut out another day. Baby steps!

  2. Nanny March 19, 2013 at 8:33 pm #

    I hear you honey, I hear you.

I'm a good listener... Comment Here!