Wedding Day!

8 Aug

July 20, 2013

It was everything I dreamed of (get ready for the sap factor)… The day was beautiful, seriously gorgeous- sunny with a small breeze.  I woke up and did about five cartwheels and went to The Good Game Ranch, the house my family rented and had breakfast with them.  My nephew was already trying to get in the pool, making himself quite at home in Santa Barbara wine country.

There’s this very cute yellow house adjacent to Lincourt Vineyard (our venue) and I thought it would be the perfect get-ready spot for my bridesmaids, mother and myself. My mom and I scuttled back to the house, showered up and got ready for the girls to join us at noon.  I purchased matching get ready nighties (very vintage meets Laura Ingles Wilder inspired) and typed little notes for everyone.  They were smart and brought the mimosas and music. Our hair and makeup girls were fantastic and made my already stunning bridesmaids and mother that much more beautiful!

 

getting ready girls

 

Mike and I didn’t want to see each other until the ceremony.  And I’m so glad we waited because as the bridesmaids and groomsmen walked arm and arm down the aisle all I kept thinking was “I can’t wait to see HIM!”.  Listening to the classical guitarist, seeing the wild lavender and hearing the mild chatter of our guests below was magical.  And as my father and I stepped around the corner and began our walk down the aisle it only took about thirty seconds for both Mike and I to start crying.  There I was, beautiful than ever, doing the ugly cry face all the way towards him.  It didn’t make for the prettiest pictures, but who cares, it’s authentic.

 

weddingcollage

 

The actual ceremony was interesting.  The scenery, the people and my nanny’s Velveteen Rabbit reading made it incredibly special.  What most people didn’t know is that we had a very small church ceremony the Wednesday before.  Due to Catholic red tape we needed to receive the sacrament in the church to be recognized.  The catholic priest who offered to do our outdoor wedding announced this fact to everyone in the beginning of our ceremony, much to my dismay as I saw THIS wedding day as our actual wedding! Also I couldn’t help but giggle because on more than one occasion he had to reference the program, tucked in his bible, to remember Michael’s name, as if it’s the most exotic and difficult name ever.  But he did the job, we kissed, everyone cheered, it was magical, wonderful, happy, exciting, kitties, cats, baby fluffy kitties, YAY.

 

weddingcollageceremony

 

The reception FLEW by.  There were amazing speeches (how in the world did my mom find a list of 100 qualities I wanted in a husband circa 1997?!).  Then came dinner, first dances, father daughter dances and the PARTY!  And what a party it was.  Hoisted above everyone, bouncing in chairs doing the Hora to some Mexican/Caribbean music was definitely the highlight of my night.  I looked over at Mike, gripping his chair, laughing hysterically and then I looked down and saw all of these faces I absolutely love and I never wanted it to end.

 

weddingcollage2

 

And then all of a sudden there wasn’t time for cake cutting, so we did a quick slice and ran back to the dance floor to soak up the last few moments of bliss.    For most people the party didn’t end there and from the stories I’ve heard I’m sure this wedding will go down in history.  (Sorry to my dear friend who broke her two front teeth later that night…).

I can honestly say that my wedding day was beyond my wildest dreams.  I just can’t believe how fast it goes.  You spend all of this time and energy (and money) and then it happens, just like that.  I’ve been trying to remember every detail possible but it seems like a dream, a fantastic dream.

I am so grateful to all of you who shared in our big day (sounds cliché but it’s true and from my heart).  We have the best friends anyone could ask for and the most amazing supportive families (I had so many family members fly out from Minnesota, which touched me dearly).

I’m going to go find somewhere where I can cry now, so my co-workers don’t see me.

 

xoxo

Mrs. Smith

4 Responses to “Wedding Day!”

  1. Annie August 8, 2013 at 1:18 pm #

    It was amazing and you looked gorg!

    Such a fun group, celebrating two of my favorites!

    Much love to the Smiths!

  2. Nanny August 8, 2013 at 4:40 pm #

    Oh Mrs. Smith, I’m sniveling again but it’s a good snivel isn’t it. Wonderful photos. Meow backatcha.

  3. Nanny August 8, 2013 at 4:42 pm #

    A little more – thank you SO MUCH for bringing us all together, still pinching myself, too, were we really there? Sure ‘nuf.

  4. Katie August 16, 2013 at 7:28 pm #

    I couldn’t help but smile while reading this. You captured it well. I cannot wait until you are here to be a part of mine. Love you!

I'm a good listener... Comment Here!

