Crockpot Oatmeal, yes I cook

16 May

We’ve been wanting to try this one out for a while.  I love oatmeal and I love a good crockpot so the two together just seems natural.  Oh, and it’s low fat and healthy too?  Fantastic.  I studied a few variations of this recipe and worked with what we had.  We got some bad news last night so this was definitely a good comfort food for this morning.

IMG_2336

Chop up two apples (some recipes suggest peeling them, but I left it on)

 

IMG_2338

 

You’ll need to grease the crockpot or it will stick like silly glue the next morning.

IMG_2339

Dump in 1 cup of Steel Cut Oats

 

IMG_2341

 

Add 1 1/2 cup water and 1 1/2 cup milk (I substitued Almond milk)

Sprinkle some cinnamon.

IMG_2348

 

Set on low and leave overnight for roughly 7 hours

     IMG_2354

In the morning you are greeted with a wonderful smell!

I crushed up some almonds to throw on top for a crunchy treat.

 

IMG_2355

YUM YUM YUM

 

One Response to “Crockpot Oatmeal, yes I cook”

  1. Nanny May 16, 2013 at 8:47 pm #

    Delicious honey(s) and inspiring! Pretty smart to cook up oatmeal instead of going on a bender over bad news. Whatta gal and guy.

I'm a good listener... Comment Here!

