Happy Earth Day- How To: plant life in a kitchen window

23 Apr

Happy belated Earth day!  I had the chance to get my fingers in the soil over the weekend and it felt absolutely great.   We might have the smallest terrace ever but our plants are happy to be there soaking up the enormous amount of sun.  My mission was two-fold; 1) Repot the lemon and lime trees/bushes into larger terracotta holders 2) buy and plant herbs/veggies in window boxes in our kitchen.

 

The first task was intense.  I didn’t realize that I’d have to do a lot of digging in a cramped space to heave these little redwoods out of their temporary plastic containers.  Gilligan was right there with me the whole time.

 

garden4

 

 

The second to-do was a bit more fun.  Our kitchen has this amazing big window box over the sink and it’s been dying for some greenery.

 

IMG_2004

 

I found these adorable wooden planter boxes on OneKingsLane at $30 each.

 

 

IMG_2008

 

I first lined the boxes to avoid any water leaking (regular trash bags work, just cut the drawstring top part off).

 

Then I made a trip to Armstrong’s Nursery for herbs,.veggies and a few succulents for empty pots about the house.   They were giving away free Lady Bug packets at checkout!

 

 

garden2

 

And finally after cleaning Gilligan’s paws we were ready to introduce our plants to their new home;

 

garden3

 

I can’t wait to see if these plants survive (French Thyme, Jalapeno and Cilantro).

 

xoxo

 

3 Responses to “Happy Earth Day- How To: plant life in a kitchen window”

  1. auntie coon April 23, 2013 at 8:54 am #

    Don’t forget a small pot of greens for Gilligan! Good luck with your mini-garden. :o)

  2. patinaandcompany April 23, 2013 at 9:35 am #

    Wow, what a surprise in the last picture–those look fantastic! And how convenient for taking little pots in and out to give the plants fresh air in spring.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Does your cat do stuff like this? | The Under-Analyst - May 9, 2013

    […] when I spent time and effort to create lovely window boxes for our kitchen?   Yeah, well I got home the following night and look at what I […]

I'm a good listener... Comment Here!

