This is How I Leave the House These Days

12 Feb

I’ve been trying to look more ‘put together’.  A bigger effort than one would think!  I discovered these little fabric twisties that act as rollers in your hair.  When properly done they give you that tousled beach look (yea, that’s my put together look).  I have been putting them in before bed, much to Mike’s delight.

Unfortunately this past Saturday I had forgotten to put them in overnight and had an event later that afternoon that I wanted to look uber good for.  So I showered up and threw them in my hair that morning.  But I had a laundry list of things to do to achieve looking “good” for this event and I needed to leave the house to do so.  I studied my medusa curler head in the mirror.  What do old ladies do when they have curlers in?  Wear a cute little scarf tied below their chin!

african

I didn’t have a cute scarf.  I didn’t have a hat big enough to cover them either.  I frantically looked around my closet for a solution.

A big scarf!  I would wear an Africa turban of sorts. Yes, it would be marvelous!

african turbin2

african turbin1

I also needed to wear easy on and off clothes for mystic spray tan.  Sweatpants, yes and yes.

I met my friend at the nail salon.  She didn’t recognize me.  It was then that I realized I either looked like the Girl with the Pearl Earring (best case scenario) or a sick person.  As I ran the rest of my errands I couldn’t help but think this would end like a movie, I’d run into an ex and try hiding behind some fire hydrant but my turban would give me away and I’d have to explain to him that I am trying a new look while fanning my engagement ring at non-existent bees.

girl-with-a-pearl-earring

Luckily I made it safely back home, unspotted, feeling brave.

Sometimes you have to look terrible to look really good, I think that’s the moral here.

africanturbin3

2 Responses to “This is How I Leave the House These Days”

  1. auntie coon February 12, 2013 at 10:48 am #

    You must be a natural at creating turbans – you look so funny and cute! ;o) Really, not bad at all!

  2. Nanny February 12, 2013 at 12:20 pm #

    This tops them all, great lines! Aren’t there many uses for the turban, Egyptian camel riding and stuff,right? Anyway, you’d look good in a sack. Was all this for the runway outing?

I'm a good listener... Comment Here!

