Expensive Fabric

14 Nov

Remember when I said that I wouldn’t center all of my blogs around my pending nuptials?  Yea, I lied.  It’s either wedding or cats at this point (my creative juices are running low lately).

Although can I just say that I saw Book of Mormon last night and it was A-MAZ-ING!!

I’m about to enter the “shop for the perfect wedding dress” phase and I am a little nervous.  Suddenly the price of fabric SKYROCKETS.  Lace, Jewels, Ruffles, Cuts, it’s all too overwhelming.  Dutifully I’ve tuned into many episodes of TLC’s “Say Yes To The Dress” and I am astonished at the following;

a) The price.  Some of these women pay 20k plus for a dress (and usually, in my opinion, it’s hideous).

while definitely not hideous this gown is $13,265, before alterations of course.

 

b) Style.  Maybe I have a naive dress palette but I seriously think 85% of the dresses on this show are unflattering and ugly.

not my cup of cats

 

 

c) Sexy dresses?  Unless you’re going to a chapel in the city of sin I’m pretty sure you should leave the Vegas style dress on the rack.  These women are letting it ALL hang out on their big day.

she won’t even have to change later for her wedding night

 

 

d) Price.  Oh wait, I already covered that.

 

This reminds me of High School Prom.

Junior year I was SO incredibly excited to join my date on the dance floor  (“leaving room for Jesus” while slow dancing).  My mom and I ended up choosing a $400 dress.  It was beautiful but mainly a big waste of money considering I only wore it once.   Senior year we were wiser and purchased the perfect dress for $99.

Yes, this is a big day.  BUT I will not be a Junior prom bride and waste away our fortune on bedazzled satin.

more my speed

 

2 Responses to “Expensive Fabric”

  1. auntie coon November 14, 2012 at 10:38 am #

    You know I have an opinion on this, right? ;o) Here it is. With your looks and style, you don’t need a super expensive dress to look drop dead gorgeous on your wedding day, so find something simple and inexpensive (as wedding gowns go, anyway). Some women need the dress to be the focal point – you don’t! Whatever you choose will shine, because you’re wearing it. Every woman should be so lucky.

  2. Nanny November 15, 2012 at 8:43 pm #

    Yes, for sure what she said. And too, what a distraction from what counts it would be having to constantly readjust straps or whatever, walking like a popsicle stick.

I'm a good listener... Comment Here!

