My Trip to the Dry Bar

27 Sep

I am aware that these Dry Bars have been around for a while.  Before I go further let me make sure we are all on the same page.  A “Dry Bar” is a blow dry salon.  For a fee they shampoo and condition you and then blow out and style your hair for you in one of the many fashions they offer.  There is one right near my house and another about a block away that is opening this fall.  My neighbor has been several times and LOVES it. They give you a glass of wine or champagne and an ipad to play on while you relax and let them make you look amazing for your day/event.  The typical cost for this service is $35-45 dollars.

So there I am in Orlando wondering how I will fill my afternoon because my fiance is off with the other groomsmen taking photos for his friend’s wedding that evening. I’ve already hit up the dwarf-sized fitness center in our hotel (no but seriously I couldn’t use the treadmill because my head hit the ceiling).  I decide this is a perfect occasion to pamper myself and try out this dry bar business for the wedding that I know no one at.

I only find one salon that claims it does this blow out service and it’s only five miles away.  The hotel shuttle bus actually agrees to take me there and pick me up (talk about service!).  When he drops me off I see that the salon is in a house, that’s cool, very cozy.  I had called ahead and was there to see Courtney oh sorry with a “K”.

She hands me a service menu and I can choose between “sleek and straight” (insert picture of Gwyneth Paltrow), Barrel Curl (insert picture of Kim Kardashian), “Beachy Babe” (insert picture of Kate Hudson),  Southern Bell (insert anonymous celebrity with giant hair) or “Up do” (lame name and lame picture for this one).

Sample menu (not the one at this salon)

We go over to the chair and she asks me what I’m doing that evening and I tell her I’m going to a wedding that my fiance is in.  She says, “Oh, how fun! Well how about we do it sleek and straight.”  I look at her and think and then say, “Yeah, but it’s super humid and might rain so let’s do the beachy babe instead but with a little more formality.”  She nods and takes me over to the sink to wash my hair.

Back in the chair she gets me a glass of wine and starts to blow dry my hair.  She is taking FOREVER!!  She is almost done blow drying my hair and I haven’t seen her turn on a curling iron and my hair is stick straight so I’m starting to get confused.  Also, I’m out of wine.

“Whallaah!”  she says.  Yup, she’s done and she did exactly what SHE suggested and not what I asked for.  Really!?  My hair is super sleek and straight and I look at my watch and realize I need to get back to the hotel and get ready so I graciously smile and say, “Thanks Kourtney, looks good.”  I go to the check out and pay and tip and then get outside and kick myself for the five minutes that I’m waiting for my giant hotel shuttle bus.  This is SO typical.  Me letting small injustices go, out of the goodness of my heart.  But it’s too late now, what am I gonna do?  Go in there and demand my money back or yell at her that she is a bad listener?  No, defeated I get into the big bus by myself and hope it doesn’t rain.

I go to the wedding and my hair looks good.  It only rains slightly at the end of the night and I’m glad that I’ve looked so sleek and straight.  Maybe Courtney with a “K” knew best after all.

 

 

what I asked for…

&

What I got.

 

I still think I’ll try it again, maybe locally this time.

Have you ever visited a Dry Bar?

4 Responses to “My Trip to the Dry Bar”

  1. Leah M. September 27, 2012 at 11:21 am #

    Oooh you look so pretty!!

  2. Your hairstylist September 27, 2012 at 12:36 pm #

    Dont you dare go see someone else for a blow dry. You know where to go… !! 🙂

  3. auntie coon September 28, 2012 at 12:03 pm #

    Would you believe I actually knew what a dry bar was before reading your explanation? I did – auntie coon is full of surprises. And no, I’ve never been to one. As you go through life, standing up for yourself gets a whole lot easier. You wouldn’t believe how shy and accepting your mother once was – now she well deserves her clan name Alpha Woman. Next time your service isn’t what it should be, channel your Cat Woman! Love you.

  4. thepineapplepages October 4, 2012 at 12:39 am #

    I have wanted to go to a dry bar for ages!! Love this

I'm a good listener... Comment Here!

