Best in Show

27 Aug

For the past two years I’ve missed the Santa Monica Cat Show.  I wasn’t going to let that happen in 2012.  Over my dead body.  The Cat Convention was Saturday and Sunday.  Originally I had decided that I would go both days, all day.  But then Lucy came to town and I decided that I would simply dedicate Sunday, the Lord’s day, to Cat judging.

Admission was a hefty $10 but thankfully I found a $1 off coupon on the Cat Show facebook site.  I promised my fiance (that still sounds strange…) that I wouldn’t tell anyone he went with or take any pictures of him there.  I only honored one of these requests.

I was very disappointed in the booths.  I thought I’d come home with a huge swag bag of cat treats for Gilligan Marbles.  Nope.  They didn’t even sell “Cat Show 2012” t-shirts!  But I did see the following;

I really like these shirts;

Another shirt that I didn’t get a picture of but loved said,

“Cats are the new kids”

I don’t know how, but I somehow managed not to buy any cat jewelry;

It was at this booth that I overheard an argument. The wife said, “It’s MY money and I’m buying this cat bracelet…” The husband looked miserable.

 

The actual cat judging was confusing.  They had 8 small rings set up in the large building and they didn’t have a printed out schedule.  We were SO lucky that we caught the kitten judging ring, table 8.  These kittens were the best of their breeds and she’d pick them up and make comments about their facial symmetry or their coat or their size and the crowd would ‘ooh’ and ‘aaah’ and clap as she awarded ribbons.  It was honestly the most exciting part of the entire Cat Show.

We saw a few other shows and I decided that I only really like fat furry cats, not the skinny long ones or the alien no hair ones.

At about two hours in I could tell I was losing Mike.  His eyes started to glaze over and he had stopped making jokes about the ‘cat people’ who surrounded us.  I tried showing him an adorable kitten and he just looked at his watch.

We did a loop to look at the show cats who were sitting in their cages in between shows.  Some of them had elaborately decorated kennels with all of their awards and photos up.  Some cats even had their own business cards!  (I don’t even have my own business card… ).

 

We finally left, much to Mike’s relief, and I saw this gem as we headed for the door:

All in all I was disappointed.  I thought there would be more excitement, cat fights, and handler dramas and cat music and free cat things.    Next year I’m entering Gilligan.

3 Responses to “Best in Show”

  1. Nanny August 27, 2012 at 2:54 pm #

    Too bad it was disappointing. I’m with you, there must be hair on all cats. What fun to see so many kitties and their cute faces. Thanks Lena for so expertly covering this event!

  2. Lucille August 27, 2012 at 5:34 pm #

    So did you buy that exquisite suitcase?!?! The suspense is killing me, as is my regret for missing this! WOWWWwww.

  3. auntie coon August 28, 2012 at 2:38 am #

    Sorry you were disappointed – try a dog show, at least they DO something! My Buffy deserves an award – she killed a field rat for her mama early this morning, and left it on the bedroom floor instead of bringing it onto the bed to show me. :o)

I'm a good listener... Comment Here!

