Ohh Hiii, Ojai – Surprise Getaway

6 Jun

After staying in Santa Barbara Friday night (where we saw a fun concert at the SB Bowl) the bf suggested we stop in Ojai (pronounced “oh Hi”) for a lunch on our way back to Santa Monica.  I had never been to the small town and he assured me that I’d absolutely love it.

He was right!

The place was charming.  It’s quaintness was magnified by the large Topa Topa Mountains surrounding us in summer greenery.   We took the scenic drive in and passed Las Casitas lake.

In town I was absolutely stunned to discover not one, not two but SEVEN thrift stores in this tiny town.  Including a large antique store that we walked through for only a moment (due to lack of proper air circulation in there!).

 

After purchasing a few books at one of the many thrift stores I insisted we grab a lemonade for my parched throat.  While I went inside the cute market and made friends with Lori of Lori’s Lavender Lemonade the bf stayed outside on his phone.  Can you imagine my surprise when he told me that he had gotten us a room at the beautiful, romantic, amazing Ojai Valley Inn and Spa!?

Swoon

We grabbed a sandwich at the co-op and then walked a few blocks to a place where I purchased a swimsuit for $20 (a steal!).  Then we headed to one of the most beautiful places in California.

We enjoyed the pool, the putting green, wine by a fireplace watching the sunset, a delicious and beautiful outdoor dinner and finally an amazing deluxe breakfast in bed in our matching robes.

It was difficult to say  “oh..Bye” to Ojai

One Response to “Ohh Hiii, Ojai – Surprise Getaway”

  1. auntie coon June 7, 2012 at 11:31 pm #

    Sounds like the perfect weekend – what a beautiful area! I love seeing California through your eyes.

I'm a good listener... Comment Here!

