Sick as a Cat

24 Apr

Dear Diary,  the past four days have, well, sucked. This weekend I was a victim, trapped inside my own raging hormones. And just as I was gaining some sense of sanity back my throat lit on fire and now I’m full on couch-ridden with aches and pains, staring down that disgusting bottle of Chloraseptic.

Saturday and Sunday

Monday and Tuesday

 

I’ve watched two lame documentaries on Netflix; Divorce Wars and Enlighten Up.   The latter is about a woman, Kate Churchill, who makes a documentary about the world of Yoga.  Nick (a man she has chosen for the task with zero experience in yoga) sets off on a six month journey to find the meaning of “yoga” and to transform himself.   He is honest and after traipsing the world and talking to numerous Gurus he still finds that he feels rather confused, albeit fit, and uninspired.  Fair enough.  I was confused just watching the film, mainly because I find it rather frustrating that a WOMAN filmed this yet everyone in the documentary is a MAN!  Oooohhh I see,  you must have a penis to be enlightened or to be a Guru!  Awesome, idiot sexist documentary film maker. (Ok, maybe my hormones have yet to settle completely.)

 

unless you have a vagina... sorry.

 

I’m on somewhat of a documentary kick.  After watching Forks Over Knives  over a week ago I haven’t been eating meat.  I just want to eat healthy and ethically.  I want to know where my meat is coming from and I want it to be from free range and grass-pasture fed animals.  But these days it’s so hard to know exactly what standards are being used when products are labeled, “Free Range.”  I started Food Inc. but as soon as they were showing hormone-injected chickens packed together, some dead, I had to shut it off for another day.

Remember when I used to dress our farm chickens up in baby doll dresses and smother them with kisses? I do.

 

 

Feeling down I had to ask myself ‘does real life always have to be so depressing?’

No, of course not.

So I’m going to now squirt that liquid throat slime into my mouth, grab the organic dairy-free ice cream in the freezer and watch my favorite type of documentary;

 

 

 

 

4 Responses to “Sick as a Cat”

  1. Nanny April 24, 2012 at 6:50 pm #

    Oh no, you poor baby. You describe your misery oh so well. Yes! The Housewives, always an even balance of numb-out and disgust with my own viewing choices. What’s your favorite dairy-free ice cream?? Please get well very, very soon.

  2. Nanny April 24, 2012 at 6:52 pm #

    Ha! Yes the chickens! Were they the red ones or white ones?

  3. auntie coon April 24, 2012 at 10:55 pm #

    You were a Chickenista! Ma used to tell me a story about the chickens getting drunk once on grandma and grandpa’s fermented Concord grapes – the rooster was staggering around in circles, trying (not too successfully) to crow. Hope you’re feeling better soon, Cat Girl.

    • The Under-Analyst April 27, 2012 at 12:25 pm #

      hah, LOVE this.

I'm a good listener... Comment Here!

