Hunger Lames

26 Mar

It’s all anyone’s been talking about the past 2 weeks.  This Jennifer Lawrence girl has been in every magazine and talk show imaginable.  I have to put this out there first: I didn’t read the books.   I know, I know.  But honestly I just get very skeptical whenever there’s a mass cult following (thinking, Dan Brown books and Twilight).  But something about the premise of the movie interested me.  We bought our tix on Saturday and waited in a roped-off line to secure decent seats (I can’t remember the last time I did something similar).

I am usually one to appreciate unique cinematography, but I almost needed an airplane bag for the first thirty minutes of the movie until my vertigo could adjust.  It’s as if they dangled the camera from a cat’s toy-stick and then edited it with choppy jumps between shots.

I wanted more political background.  I’m guessing this is where reading the book would have been helpful.  The outdated coal-miner apparel really threw me off.  Are we in the future or is this Grapes of Wrath?

12-18 seems like a pretty large gap for age qualifications.  That’s like a 6th grade rec player vs. Varsity.

Who is this group of allies that is just running around together feeling completely secure?  I’d NEVER fall asleep with a bunch of murdering kids who are competing to be the only one left.  And why didn’t any of them just get up and murder the others while they were sleeping!?

Ape-dogs?!  Really?  That’s the best they could come up with?  Not to mention they were the slowest apedogs ever.  At one point the dainty sidekick Peter has a monkeycanine on his back and the next minute they are miraculously 50 yards ahead of them running.

And lastly the scenes where they’re making out is just gross (we know they haven’t brushed their teeth in DAYS)… how much would it suck to have your period the same week of the “game.”  You’d hope a sponsor would send you some tampons.

3 Responses to “Hunger Lames”

  1. auntie coon March 26, 2012 at 3:54 pm #

    Interesting perspective, but I still plan on seeing it when it comes out on dvd. Perhaps you have to be a fan of science fiction/fantasy to enjoy it?

  2. best friend April 9, 2012 at 12:48 pm #

    read the book. You’ll change your tune, I promise.

  3. Kelsey Williams June 26, 2012 at 5:57 am #

    Haha! I listened to the book, and I still thought the movie was TERRIBLE. Casting seemed odd, and so many good things left out. Ugh. Also, in the book those “muttations” at the end were the dead tributes coming back as dogs. They could tell who was who, so it added another layer of disgust to the whole thing.

I'm a good listener... Comment Here!

