Homesick

7 Mar

I’m feeling a little homesick today.  Maybe it’s the colder weather (yeah, that’s what I get for bragging about it being so nice this past weekend, now it’s freezing here) or maybe it’s because Christmas seems so long ago.  While I’ve always been adventurous in traveling and living abroad I’ve also in turn had big bouts of homesickness that Skype just doesn’t fix.  But now that I’m all settled it’s time to get in a rhythm.  Twice a year (summer and winter) just isn’t enough.  I’m thinking quarterly visits are a must.  Exception only if they come to visit me (which is unlikely with a 5 year old and 1 year old).

According to my watch, this summer marks my 10 year highschool reunion… YAY.

That will be a good excuse to visit home, go on a diet for the next three months and watch that Romy and Michelle movie non-stop.  I can’t wait to show off pictures of my cat while everyone else shows me their children and large affordable homes.

Things I’m missing back in Minnesota…

Gunther Marie

My nephew’s first big hockey game (his number is 1, how cute is that!?)

My niece shoveling yogurt in her face and saying her version of “blueberries”

Miss all of my family! Love you guys!

6 Responses to “Homesick”

  1. michelle_in_CA March 7, 2012 at 10:12 am #

    10 years, yes! I’ll see you there, Romy!

    • The Under-Analyst March 7, 2012 at 10:26 am #

      we INVENTED post its!

  2. Lizzie Ladd March 7, 2012 at 10:17 am #

    I will gladly show you pictures of my children, but can not help you out with the HUGE home. Also YOU NEED NOT TO DIET.

    Hope to see you this summer, I miss my long lost HS buddy.

    • The Under-Analyst March 7, 2012 at 10:21 am #

      Your kids are TOO cute Lizzie! Can’t wait to see you.

  3. Noah March 7, 2012 at 11:22 am #

    Missing you too !

  4. auntie coon March 7, 2012 at 3:04 pm #

    Girly-girl, you KNOW how much I miss you – Christmas Eve goes by way too fast! Take it from one who knows (I lived elsewhere for 6 years one stretch, 15 for another) – it’ll get easier when/if you have kids of your own, because it keeps you focused on something other than how much you miss everyone back home.

    Are you referring to “Romy & Michelle’s High School Reunion”? LOVE that movie!

    coon hugs :o)

I'm a good listener... Comment Here!

