“Is It Wrong to Dress Up Your Cat?” Umm Is it Wrong to Breathe?

23 Feb

I’m subscribed to a daily e-mail update on pet news.  Awesome, I know.  Today’s story perked my interest so I clicked on the full story.  See below:

A friend of mine has  recently started dressing her cat up and posting pictures on Facebook. Although  her cat doesn’t seem to mind and I know my friend would never do anything to  deliberately hurt her, I can’t help feeling this is wrong and she is only doing  it to impress people online. What do you think about this – and should I talk to  her about it?  Erica, Slough

This is a tricky one as,  while I do completely sympathise with your  concerns and agree cats and other pets should be companions rather than models  or trophies, I can also appreciate there is nothing inherently wrong with  dressing up pets provided there are no welfare issues.

It is also possible to argue any activity that encourages people to spend  quality time with their pets is to be encouraged as too many pets today are  ignored and suffer stress and behavioural problems as a consequence.

So, in this  case, I would suggest there is no reason to interfere with  your friend’s hobby provided you’re happy her cat is enjoying it as  well  as her. However, you could consider taking her out and introducing her to some  new, less oddball, hobbies to save her from becoming too eccentric.

Read more: http://www.metro.co.uk/lifestyle/891106-is-it-wrong-to-dress-up-pet-cats-vet-joe-inglis-answers-your-pet-queries#ixzz1nFPNUlTY

 

WHOA, wait a minute… Who the heck would ever, EVER, be against cats in costumes??  Ridiculous.  If that girl were here I’d slap her. What, and deprive the world of this?

 

 

 

 

Or this…?

 And what about this!?

And finally…

Yeah, I didn’t think so.  The world is in desperate need for more cats in costumes and I want her friend’s info so I can friend-request her like crazy!

5 Responses to ““Is It Wrong to Dress Up Your Cat?” Umm Is it Wrong to Breathe?”

  1. pussincahoots February 23, 2012 at 3:40 pm #

    I’d feel like a right nob-head if my humans dressed me up like that.

    • The Under-Analyst March 23, 2012 at 7:54 am #

      hah, fair enough. I’m pretty sure Giligan wouldn’t be too pleased either.

  2. auntie coon February 23, 2012 at 5:14 pm #

    If I ever tried to dress up Buffy the Vampire Moth Slayer Kitty, or Xena the Warrior Princess Kitty (which I wouldn’t), I would get my eyes clawed out! But I do get a kick out of seeing cats and dogs dressed up. A little. Sometimes.

  3. auntie coon February 23, 2012 at 5:16 pm #

    ps – I like the one in the orange outfit.

  4. Nanny February 25, 2012 at 12:56 pm #

    Out of the box … love it honey. That’s a church basement caserole lady dressed there in the lavender.

I'm a good listener... Comment Here!

