Chips N Salsa in the morning? Heck yes Folkies!!

17 Feb

Labels.  Eww, who wants one of those?  I remember going into 7th grade and having a very serious talk with my neighbor friend, Christina.  She had a notebook out and on it she had written something along the lines of;  preppy, alternative, sporty, artsy.  It was “totally super important”, she said, that we choose an identity that would define us for the rest of our junior high lives.  Intense, I know.  All I really could think of were the Spice Girls (I guess I’d want to be Baby or Ginger?).   I think at the time I opted for alternative, which ended up being a bad play on my part (highlighted bangs, Jincos and Airwalks… need I say more?).

As an adult who has clearly defined herself (ahem) sometimes I still feel like that skinny girl in braces, wishing I were just a little bit of something else.  In today’s case that ‘something else’ is folksy.

Aww to be folksy!    I don’t even have a baby but hurry and give me cloth diapers.  Friday nights could be spent “jamming” with my cool instrument playing friends (acoustic of course).  And I’d be elbows deep distressing a vintage dresser I found at the flea market.  My life would revolve around finding new ways to use  mason jars and I’d take up knitting.

 

nope, not that folky

 

 

Friday nights...

 

 

mason jar magic

 

 

My friend's sister's awesome folksy wedding

LOVE the album Goat Rodeo, my favorite folksy song:

 Is it folksy to eat chips and salsa for breakfast?

5 Responses to “Chips N Salsa in the morning? Heck yes Folkies!!”

  1. Nanny February 17, 2012 at 11:22 am #

    When you marry, will you wed in a barn please? Your mommy and I would adore that.

  2. Nanny February 17, 2012 at 11:24 am #

    And, this blog entry and others are so fun. Thank you honey.

  3. darciad February 17, 2012 at 4:28 pm #

    Your breakfast? Not folksy, just strange! ; )
    Enjoyed the post anyway!

  4. darciad February 17, 2012 at 4:29 pm #

    And definitely take up knitting!!

  5. auntie coon February 17, 2012 at 11:31 pm #

    As one who washed cloth diapers for almost 4 years straight, trust me – you do NOT want cloth diapers!

I'm a good listener... Comment Here!

