Why LinkedIn Has Lost All Credibility

3 Feb

LinkedIn is a joke.  Two things helped me come to this conclusion (three if you count all the “stay-at-home mom” profiles).

The first red flag came from a temp I once knew years back.  In a nutshell the guy flat out lies on his profile about the job title and what he did.  Now I know that part of the whole resume writing process is producing creative language for mundane daily tasks. And honestly it wouldn’t bother me so much if he wasn’t a complete idiot-jerk.

Experience:

Vice President of Internal Relations and Outbound Marketing Materials-

translation:  “Giant Gossipy A-hole Who Stuffed Envelopes”

The second crimson banner occurred last week when I received a connection request from my Grandma.  Nanny!?  The same Gammy that hasn’t worked in twenty years? Of course I clicked accept and there it was;

her job title, “Healing Advocate.”

“Riding the cloud of what’s unknown by humans”

Experience:

Psychic and Healer-

  • Accurately predicted a Christmas gift before it was opened.
  • Solves “Matlock” and “Murder She Wrote” episodes three fourths through viewing.
  • Owns crystals (long before Spencer and Heidi).
  • Gives really great backrubs when the arthritis doesn’t flare up.

 

 

(Please feel free to share any LinkedIn Fail stories)

9 Responses to “Why LinkedIn Has Lost All Credibility”

  1. healedbynanny February 3, 2012 at 12:40 pm #

    What I wouldn’t do for a Nanny backrub right about now, though… love her!

    • The Under-Analyst February 10, 2012 at 2:16 pm #

      I could really go for one about now… HAPPY FRIDAY

  2. auntie p. February 3, 2012 at 12:40 pm #

    add that its an intrusive site, it snooped into my email contacts, who I do not know? Also, it contacted people with my zip code (?) and asked them to be my contact without my permission or even asking me if I would like to connect with these people!? I don’t like it anymore than you do.

    • auntie p. February 3, 2012 at 12:41 pm #

      make that “how I do not know?”

  3. auntie coon February 3, 2012 at 2:18 pm #

    It’s probably a good place to pick up malware, too.

  4. Nanny February 3, 2012 at 8:41 pm #

    But gosh, didn’t anybody appreciate the author’s making me a little bit famous? BTW, who are these crystal toting people named Spencer and Heidi?

  5. Nanny February 10, 2012 at 2:05 pm #

    With all that heavy responsibility placed on my shoulders, I made the fateful step and CLOSED MY LINKED-IN, SCHMINCK-IN ACCOUNT. I can breathe better already! Wow, Under Analyst, you really fixed me up good.

    • The Under-Analyst February 10, 2012 at 2:14 pm #

      Nooooo! Please re-activate it. You are the best “Alternative Medicine” enthusiast I know.

      • Nanny February 10, 2012 at 2:43 pm #

        Well darling, I appreciate your enthusiasm, but they kept sending foreign contacts I knew I’d never meet again. Please understand I was too busy procrastinating my own written blog to have “Linked” with them all (wink wink, do you get it?).

        Signed, In A Blogger Fog

I'm a good listener... Comment Here!

