I Got You Shoes, Little Poor Child, YAY

26 Jan

I’m a good person!  I bought my first pair of TOMS. I feel ashamed because Tom is this amazing guy who makes comfortable slipperesque shoes for everyone (including the poor starving babies somewhere far away) and I’m not making shoes and sort of thought they were too ugly to buy until now. (head in hands)

And because I’m such an individual we can thank the celebrities for convincing me that something is fashionable and cool.

But first let’s see why I didn’t want these things:

Dirty hippies probably looking for their TOMS

Then the hipsters stole them for a while, which was better than the hippies but still pretty annoying.

So I kept seeing celebs frolicking around town in these different colored Aladdin-looking shoes and I felt myself shifting towards acceptance, and then jealousy.  This Jasmine needed some TOMS asap.

celebrities are so cool

"I'm a good person!"

 

I went safe and bought the red-corduroy ones.

They are AMAZING.  So comfortable and accommodating for my wide feet (yes, I have flapjack soles). And now I want more.

MORE!

 

 

Aren’t these lace ones gorgeous and dainty?

They even make wedges… but I’m not yet sure that those are cute. And do they give the poor people wedges?  Because I feel like that’s just mean.

Still not sure about these...

Are they?

3 Responses to “I Got You Shoes, Little Poor Child, YAY”

  1. Sandy Warn January 26, 2012 at 4:49 pm #

    They’re no worse than Birkenstocks (amazingly comfortable shoes for those with less than perfect feet, like mine), looks-wise. And if the celebs are wearing them,you don’t need to be embarrassed for wearing comfy shoes – wear them with pride! And you ARE a good person, even if you didn’t buy the shoes! I kinda like the Sherry Cord wedgies, the Black Calypso’s, and the Red Canvas.

  2. kelsey February 3, 2012 at 1:23 pm #

    Ha! You are hilarious. I have decided that the wedges are cute, but only in certain colors/fabrics. I tried on the plain ash canvas ones and they weren’t quite right…but the striped ones were very cute.

    I have a pair of classics and am considering a pair of their new flats…but they are quite spendy.

    • The Under-Analyst February 10, 2012 at 2:15 pm #

      Agreed on the spendy part… but can we really be that angry when it includes a pair for the poor children Kels!?

I'm a good listener... Comment Here!

